Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Teachers And The Band

Hi everyone,

I have read many posts from teachers here and there. I am having my surgery 3 days before spring break, and will only be out 3 days (plus all of spring break to recoop). Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has had trouble post banding w/ being a teacher. I don't always have access to the potty, I teach middle school and have a 3 hour block. Are there any other special 'teacher' things that I need to worry about?

Thanks!

I am a teacher with a removed band. I wanted to get rebanded during Spring Break but it does not look like it will be happening so soon. I may wait until the summer. I teach preschoolers with disabilities and developmental delays...my biggest thing was my port. I have to pick up children and transfer them in/out of wheelchairs and other adaptive equiptment. It was a little sore at times but nothing major.

I'm a high school teacher...still preband...but am looking to be banded w/in two months if all goes well! I was hoping to get it done over spring break, but my psych eval couldn't get scheduled until March 30th! :welldoneclap:

My surgery will be on a Thursday, and I'm going to go back to work the following Monday.

I am an assistant principal at a large high school, and I think we educators actually have somewhat of an advantage because we stay so darn busy that it sorta takes your mind off what you can't eat! I had surgery on a Wednesday and tried to go back on a Monday, but I was miserable. I had very little pain from the surgery, but I felt horrible. I had a lot of swelling and couldn't even keep my saliva down. Each person is different. My students are awesome though......... they really have started to notice the weight loss, and they really make you feel good!! GOOD LUCK!

Hi-