Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just starting out

Hello all. I am 28 from Illinois. I am just starting out and go to my first informational appt on the 16th. I am 270 lbs with a bmi of 42. I would love to keep in contact with people that have gone through the process.

Hello Amanda and welcome! That's exciting you had your informational meeting. Do you have a time frame for when you may have the surgery? Do you have a 3 month, 6 month wait? Everyone is super helpful here so feel free to ask anything!

Thanks for replying!

I have to see a nutritionist for 6 months. Not sure what goes on during that.

Thanks for replying!

I have to see a nutritionist for 6 months. Not sure what goes on during that.

Omg not looking forward to that. I am calling around to some of the weight loss places to see is I have a 3 or 6 month consecutive weigh in with them to knock off some of the time. I am so eager to have my surgery. I can't see myself like this for another 6 mos ( sad face )

Hello all. I am 28 from Illinois. I am just starting out and go to my first informational appt on the 16th. I am 270 lbs with a bmi of 42. I would love to keep in contact with people that have gone through the process.

Hey Amanda, you have to be patient although its hard. My process was only 3 months because I have Tricare. That wait was long enough so I understand. I had my surgery Dec 7, 2012. Still all very new. Patience will be your best friend. Also use the time to research and changing your eating, so the transition will be easier. Good luck!!!

Hi amanda I know how you feel. I'm 29 and I am just starting. I have done my siminar and am now waithing for my consultation. I think waiting might be the hardest part. I am in fl and would love to hear what people went through.

how was your seminar?