Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Graduate student and pre-op diet

I am hoping to have my surgery on May 2nd. I received the typical pre-op instructions from my doctor which have a 3 days prior to surgery liquid only and laxatives diet requirement. I am a graduate student who has a 4 hour long final as well as research presentation on April 30th. I am wondering how others reacted to the change in nutrients. How was your concentration, energy level and memory during this time? Can you recommend certain liquids that will be better than others during this time? Thanks!

Hi I am a grad student fulltime too and the pre-diet for the vertical sleeve was really hard, but you can push through it, if you can get ahead of your work then do it because your energy is also affected I tried to get some work done before I started and thank God everything worked out. Just plan and plan and stay ahead of your school work any reading you can do now will also help you. I read as much as I could because it was hard for me to concentrate when my belly wanted food and my head could not understand why, once you have the sleeve its a different game I felt so much better I moved slow but dint have the hunger pains..

I am hoping to have my surgery on May 2nd. I received the typical pre-op instructions from my doctor which have a 3 days prior to surgery liquid only and laxatives diet requirement. I am a graduate student who has a 4 hour long final as well as research presentation on April 30th. I am wondering how others reacted to the change in nutrients. How was your concentration, energy level and memory during this time? Can you recommend certain liquids that will be better than others during this time? Thanks!