Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

OK. Yesterday I met Dr Timothy Shope ..and..

I registered for the first class. I already checked with my insurance company to see if they would cover the surgeries. Since I work for Montgomery County Gov, we have a really great comprehensive plan out of BC/BS, and I purchased the "high option" one..of course.. so.. they said 35 BMI with one of the co-morbid conditions.. and I seem to be riddled with all of them, unfortunately.. and I'm on my way to my exercise class, right now, at cardiac rehab, phase III, at Montgomery General Hospital, to keep up the good work I've been doing to impress my cardiologist!LOL! I'm 57, 200 lbs, at the moment, although I have NOT been overweight ALL of my life..(long story)..but over the last 15 yrs I just let myself "go".

Genes kinda took over.. and my lack of seeing a physician didn't help..being a Nurse, I thought I knew everything. Well.. Denile is NOT a river in Egypt!LOL!

Anyway, after discovering I had advanced coronary artery disease, with a 100% blocked right coronary artery from top to bottom and most likely had some kind of heart attack or a few, along the way, over the years, but, of course, was too busy working and figured.it would "go away"..I just went along with my business untill all of these UTI's started, and my bloodwork came back with an elevated blood glucose.,mildly..and a slightly elevated HA1C..

Ok..here comes the good stuff. The HA1C keeps rising, finally, I'm diagnosed with full blown diabetes, and then, took the sleep apnea test...oh yeah, I have that thing too!

Never mind that I always had gerd!hahah! ok..,so..now what?? cardiac rehab...gotta go! I'll be back, and update you all on my long and sordid "fat story" later..

But..I was always an "exerciser"! for many years!!yay! I have collateral blood vessels around my heart for all those 13 yrs I taught aerobics and ran 5 miles with the sargeants program..in my "fit and normal sized years"..hahah!