Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Went to the appeals board today...

It looks really bad-- everyone was great except this lawyer they had there she had every reason under the sun why they shouldnt have to cover it. Some of them were just plain untrue--- she tried to say that the band and the high number of complications related to the band is more expense the the cost of obiesity!:) She has no clue- I am a nurse- I see people with heart attacks, stroke, cancer and diabetes everyday run up hundreds of thousands of dollars in one hospitalization. It really seems like their mind is totally made up before you even appeal. I should know their answer with in a week but I am sure it in NO WAY, So I have to figure out what the next step is. I am going to look into Indiana's Dept of Insurance and see what I need to do to file a formal complaint and get an independant appeal board to look at the case. I could just cry..... I dont know what to do to lose this weight-- I have tried everything

Jill, I am so sorry! Don't give up. I wrote one of the owners of the company my husband works for (he is an email buddy of mine) and asked him why they don't pay for WLS and he said that since they are self-insured they cannot afford to and that they try to provide insurance for things that employees don't have any control over. In other words, I should be able to control my weight on my own. He did send me Gov. Huckabee's book though and it was very inspirational. I am still not giving up though. I will wait until I get on Medicare in a few months and try them. LOL.

Sharon

Jill -

Of course their attorney had every reason why they shouldn't have to pay. That's her job.

Chances are good that they will say "no" if that was not an INDEPENDENT review board.