Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

WOW!! Just had lapband surgery in Tijuana, Mexico 10 days ago!!

Okay, okay, I know there are a million skeptics out there..but while going to college in San Diego I couldn't afford American insurance and so I would get medical treatment in Mexico instead. I did this because, frankly, I couldn't afford American medical insurance or care AND because anything I needed as a young adult (common colds, dental work, flu, checkups, etc..) could be taken care of quite easily, quickly, and with better service than I typically received in the U.S.

So fast forward 10 years, I'm a professional now that works with computers and have gained about 80 pounds of excess weight. My American insurance denied my lapband procedure although my doctor thinks its a great idea to get it...I make enough money to pay for the procedure but thought, why not save some money and get the procedure done in Mexico...after about 6 months of research, saving money, and working up enough courage, I finally made the jump and had the procedure done in Mexico at Jeruselem Hospital by Dr. Mario Almana Reyes.

The result?? Well, I still have my liver!! Ha-ha, actually, I am extremely pleased with the service I got there...they were extremely professional and seemed to do a great job! Now don't get me wrong, it's only been 10 days and so far I've only lost 9 pounds...was hoping I'd lose a little more by this point but I haven't even had my first fill yet so I'm keeping my fingers crossed. But I will say that before the procedure they took lab work (blood), had a cardiologist run an EKG on me (not an RN or medical assistant...a real cardiologist), the primary physician, and an anesthesiologist...after surgury I spent two days at a guest house where doctors, nurses, and maids kept the house safe and checked up on me.