Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Christian Bandsters - Let's get down to some facts.

Hey Gang,

Lap Band Talk has so many subgroups that it is easy to get lost (probably why there is only one long Christian thread active).

So this is beyond just the standard "I praise God for my band" statement... Let's talk the band and our faith.

I will start out by saying that while I have had my band for nearly 8 months, and I am a strong Christian, I have to say that I am one who does not equate the two directly. So I would like to know how you balance the two, so to speak.

I have a master of divinity from SMU, pastored for 7 years in smaller United Methodist Churches in east Texas (1991-98). As a musician, Off and on during the past 30 years, I would also do Christian concerts that incorporated faith. Since I am a good songwriter, but have a bit of Bob Dylan in my voice, I incorporated a lot of comedy in my concerts (both in my songs and in my "between song banter"). Since I have at times weighed as much as 450, I never had any problem joking about my weight, and weight never was a problem with my weight.

I say all that to say that weight and faith have not been in conflict with me - I have not noticed a difference now that I am losing. God's love is still there for me fat or thin.

But in glancing through the 95 pages of Christian bandsters thoughts, mostly surface thoughts, I see all sorts of comments about "I praise God for my band."

So I am asking, what is it about the band, about weight loss, or even about your fat life prior to the band, that relates to you as a Christian.

Thanks for sharing.

I believe in miracles.

I believe in miracles are worked through other people.

I believe in miracles are worked through other people like the ones who thought of, developed, and created the Lapband.

....and my surgeon, my doctors, and me.

The Lord works in mysterious ways and the band has been such a blessing in my life.