Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New Aussie to the forum - Hi :-)

Hi Everyone,

I have lurked for a couple of days and thought I might join up since I keep coming back!

Feeling very inspired by all the great pics and the great advice.

I'm 36 - mum to Miss 11 and Master 4. Working casually at the moment, am an Early Childhood teacher by profession.

I live in Central West NSW. I gather there are some other Aussies on here too :-)

I was banded on 31st May. I had to do the preop diet thing and lost 5 kg (thinking it's 11 lbs?) in that 2 weeks.

I was up and about within the hour of getting out of recovery and felt quite good. I certainly didn't feel like drinking the next day but forced myself too... It felt so tight going down - even the smallest of sips. The next day (I was still in hospital) they brought some pumpkin Soup and I threw it up (if you can call it that - it was strange - just like it was sitting there at the top of my oespophagus). The Dr came to see me and said my oesophagus was probably so swollen it was blocked - so they put me back on the IV (which was only taken off hours before) and I was on there for about 48 hours with nil by mouth. I ended up spending 6 days in hospital and was glad to get home.

I havne't had a chance to get back to the dietician yet - she is about 6 hours away... but I've been living on trim runny custard, drinking yoghurt and soup (oh I am so sick of soup).... so it will be 3 weeks this Tuesday. I'll have to try and organise to speak to her so I know what happens from here.

I lost 6 kg the week after the op (13.2lbs) but have stalled now... I suppose that is normal till you have a fill is it?

I feel really great.

I have a few things to ask the Dr after reading this forum... for starters I really don't know what sort of band he ended up using.