Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New Here and Waiting on Surgery

Hello everyone! I am new here. I'm 40 years old, I've been married for almost 21 years, and I have three kids and one grandbaby. I also currently have custody of my niece. I've been on this journey towards surgery for quite some time. My insurance required six months worth of doctor's visits and then my surgeon required some tests before they would submit to my insurance. I got the call this week that my insurance has approved my surgery and it's officially scheduled for March 31st. I am a teacher so I wanted to get as close to our spring break as possible. That way I will be off the week of March 31st and then the entire next week as well. I've pretty much battled with my weight over my entire life. I've had periods where I've been thin, but I've always gained the weight back. I am at my highest weight right now, which is 323 pounds. I'm only 4'11". I'm very excited about the surgery, but also very anxious. I'm worried that I'm not fully prepared. I would love any tips you have to offer. Right now I have no pre-surgery instructions from my surgeon, but I go for a four hour appointment on March 19th so I'm sure I will get all of that then. In the meantime, I would love to hear some things from you guys, like what items did you buy before your surgery, what did you pack to take to the hospital with you, what seemed to help with managing the pain afterwards, etc. Anything you think I might need to know. How bad am I going to hate my life when I first get home???? LOL. My family is very supportive. My husband has just started a new job and doesn't have the days to take off with me, which stinks. My mother-in-law is taking off the entire week after I get home to help with my kiddos. The things I'm most scared about is over-drinking or over-eating and getting sick, knowing what to eat and drink, and just being prepared in general so I'm ready when I get home from the hospital. Anyway, t