Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I started my journey FINALLY!

Hi! This is my first post! My name is Raven and I'm 5'8 and 315 pounds. I had my first appointment last Friday and went over my insurance and hospital requirements. I'm required to do 6 months of watched dieting and weigh ins. Plus a whole other list of stuff like a sleep study, get cleared by a psychiatrist and take 3 hours worth of computer personality tests, have an exercise evaluation, see a nutritionist monthly, get my lungs and heart checked, and more. It feels like so much stuff (worth it of course) but the 6 months wait feels like lifetime! But I've been fat my whole life so I guess it's doable. They said my goal weight as far as they are concerned is 198 because that would be me out of the obese marker. I can't believe the process is started!

Welcome and good luck to you. I'm a newbie myself to this site. There is so much helpful information here that can help you on your weight loss journey .

Well welcome to you. Raven you're about the weight I was at my surgery 4 months ago and I have lost 50 pounds, I am also 5ft8in but a whole lot older. I turned 73 the Day after Christmas, so just about the oldest on Bariatric Pal, makes not much difference, because I have all the joys and much of the trials of everyone else. I am a RnY bypass but I know a lot of the other procedures, especially the VSG and ESG. Is there any questions you would answered, anything I can help with? I had a very good surgery and wish that for everyone else. I live in Central Ohio, about 50 miles NE of the hospital where I had my surgery.