Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Kaiser Permanente of WA - Denial?

I am just in the beginning step of this process.

----- Message -----
Sent: 10/13/17 11:15 AM
To: Toni
Subject: RE: Referral question

Good Morning Toni,

My name is Lauren and I am a Registered Nurse with MD's team.

Thank you for using secure messaging. I understand your request and concerns. It would be best for you to update your doctor and review options for care over the phone. This service is free of charge to you.

Please call the appointment center at Everett Medical Center - 425-261-1500 option 1 or visit Kaiser Permanente member website to schedule a telephone appointment with your doctor to review your request and together make the best plan of care for you going forward.

What Happens After You Request Bariatric Surgery
If you are considering bariatric surgery for weight loss, this overview can help you understand the process at Kaiser Permanente.

Requesting Surgery

Your first step is to tell your primary care physician that you are interested in bariatric surgery. Your physician can refer you to Bariatric Surgery at our Kaiser Permanente medical offices location in Bellevue.
The bariatric nurse will process your referral through Kaiser Permanente's Clinical Review Unit. The Clinical Review Unit evaluates the referral request to determine if you meet the medical criteria for bariatric surgery and if the surgery is covered by your health plan.
Be sure that your doctor knows what diets you have been on in the past. It is required that at least two be listed by name.
You will receive a letter approving or denying the surgery request. If denied, you will be told why and possibly have an opportunity to appeal that decision.

Steps After Approval