Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Not telling Mom/some others....opinions

Just wondering what anyone's opinion is on not telling certain people in your life that you are getting the sleeve surgery. My Mom is 81, and I know she will start the "You don't need that, just get on a healthy diet....etc...etc" I am a grown up 50 yr old woman, I am a nurse, I have a full life with my kids and partner....and I really just do not feel like dealing with the opinion/dissapproival/comments etc. Yes, i can tell her and deal with the commentary etc....I just do not feel like it. Yet, I do feel a bit odd if I do not tell her I am having fairly major surgery.

I am basically venting, but I would really love to hear opinions on those who chose to not tell certain folks in their lives. Thanks!!

I have only told my husband and one of my 4 children- my kids are 13,16, 18 & 20. I told the 18 year old. I also told 2 friends at work and 2 close friends out of work. That's it. Hubby told his family and they blabbed it to everyone.
He still feels like he gets weird looks from people and comments like he took the easy way out- believe me this is not easy and he has so many complications.
So no- only tell people you trust. It is no ones business but yours. No one else has a right to know.
If you feel like you have to tell her something make up another surgery. I told people I was having surgery to fix my bile ducts and a haiatal hernia. I have ended up in the hospital once or twice a year for bile ducts in my liver being clogged. The dr said losing weight might help that so technically this surgery will fix that (lol).
I hope this helps.

Mich W
Hw 223, SW 217 CW 195 GW 135