Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Preventing loose skin? Pre-op BMI 36

My current weight is 210 pounds and I'm 5'4".

My goal weight is 130 pounds. I'm 29 so I'm hoping age & being at a slightly lower weight might be on my side with this... is there anything else I can do to prevent loose skin? I'm particularly concerned with my arms and legs. I'm already planning on a MMO so the tummy area doesn't bother me. It's already beyond hope after having kids lol

Exercise? Laser treatments?

Sorry, I'm new to all this - what's an MMO?

Part of it is genetic... I have a friend with a very low bmi and pretty tenacious sagging skin and stretch marks after having children. She has never been overweight a day in her life, even pregnant. Her skin just is unfriendly. I on the other hand have been overweight my whole life. A him between 30-35 most of the time. On the few occasions I managed to drop the same 70lbs again, I have very little loose skin and my stretch marks fine and nearly invisible.
The same can be said for scarring, some people scars are more noticeable with darker pigments and more raised while others scars nearly disappear.
Obviously size and complications like infections certainly play a role too though.

Just going to have to wait and see! Good luck :)

Part of it is genetic... I have a friend with a very low bmi and pretty tenacious sagging skin and stretch marks after having children. She has never been overweight a day in her life, even pregnant. Her skin just is unfriendly. I on the other hand have been overweight my whole life. A him between 30-35 most of the time. On the few occasions I managed to drop the same 70lbs again, I have very little loose skin and my stretch marks fine and nearly invisible.
The same can be said for scarring, some people scars are more noticeable with darker pigments and more raised while others scars nearly disappear.
Obviously size and complications like infections certainly play a role too though.