Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Ok I'm a newbie and I'm really bummed!

Yes another newbie, and I haven't even been banded yet. My date is Sept 28 in Monterrey,MX with Dr. Miguel Zapata.

I have been reading and reading and reading until I am so confused I don't even know now if I want the surgery.

I had to take out a loan, which to me is worth it since my BC of TN abosoultely under no circumstances will pay for weight loss surgery. Now I'm reading all these posts of no weight loss, very slow weight loss, great weight loss and so on. I already have an appt 8 wks post op with Dr. Hugh Houston in Nashville for my first fill. He 'adopts' those who have their bands done in MX and I have heard nothing but great things about him. He too does the lap band surgery but for thousands more than what I'm paying.

I know I have sleep apnea, but have never had a sleep study done but I have informed the Dr. of this, he has not required a pre op diet for the surgery as most others do in the US. I'm just going back and forth here but as I said I'm so confused.

I have read on here the dangers of sleep apnea and anethesia, that freaks me out, my only fear is that I won't wake up but then again I won't know it anyway and it would be a pleasant way to leave this world I guess. I am having this surgery to aid me in losing 114lbs to my goal weight. If I'm not going to lose the weight what is the point of all the stress I have already put myself and my family through by going to Mexico, borrowing money, and then coming home to only problems and more stress.

Before I started reading so much about pre-op and post-op stuff I was heady with excitement for my new journey and not having to worry about the fire hazzard when wearing corduroy this winter, now I am totally depressed and just about ready to chuck it all and stay fat.