Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New Here - Questions about WLS in Mexico

Hi all. This is my first time posting here, although I've been reading for a long time and have learned so much from this site. I'm considering having WLS in Mexico, as my insurance doesn't cover it at all. A local surgeon quoted me $22k for the surgery here, so I'm looking into other options. I do have some concerns about traveling for surgery though...

- What happens if there's a complication during surgery or right afterwards - do the MX hospitals featured on this site have the capability to handle life-threatening complications, or would they have to transfer me to another facility? I read something (on this site, I think) where someone mentioned taking an ambulance across the border from Tijuana to San Diego. Does that really happen? It sounds so unsafe. This is one of my biggest concerns.

- To have surgery in Mexico, I'd be traveling from/to the East Coast of the US. Flying to San Diego is no problem, but how difficult would that be flying back soon after having surgery? Is it safe to be sitting for that long after surgery? (just thinking ahead in case moving around is difficult while in the air).

- I have the money to pay to have surgery in my hometown, but obviously the cost difference is pretty huge so I'm looking into traveling for it. Am I nuts for considering traveling when I can afford to have it done at home? My insurance will cover some of the pre-op testing, but nothing else.

- Is there a difference in the quality of medical care in the feature Tijuana facilities versus the US? I'm most concerned about having a complication that they can't handle...I have young children and that's what scares me the most.

Thanks in advance for any input you have. :)