Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

things i wish they would have told me...

Is there anything any of you amazing sleevers wish the doctor would have told you before hand that they didn't?

also I'm scared of the pain ill be in after waking up....how bad is it? ????

Great question @@glitterpockets! I am pre-op so I do not have an answer, but I look forward to the responses. I'm a newbie, but I am learning real quick that the folks on this site are real, are very supportive and will tell it like it is.

The pain of the incisions was tolerable. I only felt them when I was trying to move around or get myself out of bed. The real pain culprit for me was the gas, it was bad for about the first day but I kept getting up and walking around to get rid of it. It took about a day for me to get some relief from the gas.

I wish someone had told me to walk as soon as I could, i waited til night and had lots of gas and nausea pain until I walked 10 minutes and it made a great difference, I was very medicated the first day but my wife said I was sweating and kept dozing off, I was great the second day and left, also wished someone had told me I would have bad breath during the liquid phase LMAO

Edited by laguerr13

Thank you LAG4ahealthierme ???? I'm actually pre-op as well but I like coming on this side of the wall to see what to expect ???? I've heard about the gas and walking is the only way to get rid of it. I'm glad to hear walking dulls the pain. I had two 10lb babies natural but I still cringe at the thought of pain haha.

Haha bad breathe. I'll make a list of things to buy before I go in and ill definitely be adding flossies and mouthwash to it lol ????

The most valuable advice I was given was to walk as soon as I was able and to keep walking. The gas pain in my shoulder was the worst, surprisingly. The more I walked, the less I felt it.

Gas-X is your friend post op ????