Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

5 Years and still struggling

I got my lap band 5 years ago. I was 414 when I started and got down to about 360. I have been struggling ever since, I have gained weight and I am now at 375, but I have been holding steady at that weight for about 3 years or so. It is really difficult, I drink too much when I eat and I force food through the band with liquids. I have a difficult time with the "full" feeling from the band, it feels really uncomfortable and I feel like I need to drink something to get rid of that feeling. My wife has been supportive, but now she is indifferent because she has seen no major progress. Food is a drug and I don't know how to fight the addiction. My doctor moved her practice almost an hour away into the heart of a not so nice neighborhood in Baltimore, so getting there is less than convenient so I haven't had a fill in over a year. Is anyone else struggling? I need help, advice, support or whatever. I have two beautiful children and I want to be able see them grow up.

Sorry for your struggle. food is an addition to me too and I don't know how to get over it either. I told my husband (a drinker) I was like the kind of alcoholic who drinks the vanilla and the medicine just for the alcohol. He thought if he had food that I didn't like, that I wouldn't eat it. But I can't help myself.

@@Menth13

Hi!

I was banded in Sept 2009, so have had mine for quite a while too. And I have experienced a band that IS and a band that is NOT working as it was designed too.

I hear a couple of GOOD things coming from your post...

1. You have maintained your current weight for the last three years.

2. You're drinking to push food through your band.

3. You still have the desire to lose it sounds like.

You've maintained, without gaining....so the band may still be doing somthing.....just not quite enough.

Drinking to push food through....can be corrected.

You haven't given up!