Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Surgery is soon and I have fearful days

Hello all. I guess this is my first time posting a thread!

My name is Robyn and my surgery is scheduled for next month, July 16th. Some days I am excited. I have lost the weight before but I have also gained it back.

On my own, I lost 125 pounds. I just don't think I can do it again. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia and a host of other things, and sometimes moving around is just too painful.

I am excited to see the day that I get down to the size that I should be, but I am afraid of the way I am going about it some days.

I have to have a surgery one way or the other. I have a very large hiatal hernia that must be fixed. Right now my stomach is 2/3 upinto my chest and I am not doing well.

My RA causes my cells to attack healthy cells. I have to be on a chemotherapy drug as well as a biologic to supress my immune system and I do not heal well.

I have to stop the medications previous my surgery as well as after it. I will be off of them for 5 weeks. They help with the pain and inflamation as well as holding back the disease process. Five weeks is not going to kill me, I know this.

The surgeon tells me I really need to have the wls now or never. The HH surgery is very extensive and if I have the WLS later, the surgeon will have to undo and then redo the HH surgery as well.

It is just a lot to take in.

This is my 1st post also, I have aclalasia and my surgeon sugesested RNY with that procedure. I am disabled and can't exersise , My med eval is next week . I hope the rest goes fast. The benifits outweigh the risks so I believe we are doing the right thing. I' hoping that post op I will get rid of my diabetes. Hbp and soom pain. There is lots of hope just reading about all the other operations and stories. It seems like between this site and other support groups we have lots to fall back on. Good luck, I'll be following your progress