Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Yay Approved/But CNA daughter trying to talk me out of it!

I was finally approved May 27th!!! I was and am very excited. Yet still a little apprehensive because my 24 year old daughter who is a CNA is against me getting the sleeve! She says she helps patients that have bariatric surgery and its not good. She is trying to be supportive and offered to help me diet another way, But Ive done all the diets out there numerous times. Everyone else is supportive of my decision, but I guess Im dwelling on her feelings about it because she does work as a CNA in a hospital. Ive done so much research and reading about the sleeve and feel I am well informed and not going into this blindly. Just curious about others thoughts on this subject and their family members feelings towards you getting bariatric surgery? But she is scareing me a bit! :unsure:

I am a nurse and tried talking myself out of it numerous times, but my blood pressure cholestrol and now pre diabetes I must do it so I can live a longer healthily life. Surgery is not a cure but a way to help maintain your weight loss. Everything had risks including staying overweight. I too have lost weight many times. Just couldn't keep it off!

Edited by Monte0828

I'm a RN too and getting my sleeve was one of the best decisions I have made in a long time.

Your daughter works as a CNA at a hospital? I guess I can see where that would cloud ones perspective on bariatric surgeries. People go to the hospital because they're sick and have problems.. she doesn't see the majority of people who DON'T have issues and are successful with it. She only sees the bad cases, which I'd be willing to bet are only a small percentage of the good ones.