Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Any opinions about Paraguard?

This seems like the best IUD option for me ATM, just wondering what the sleeve community thinks about the device in general. Thanks everyone!!!

I am am OB nurse and I also have the Mirena. I will preface this by saying that you need to do what is best for you and this is just my opinion. Anyway, most of the women that I have seen that have the Paragard experience very heavy periods. However, if this is not a deterrent for you or you don't tolerate hormones, it may be a good option for you. Another plus is that it is good for 10 years but most can't get past the bleeding.

I'm a former OB nurse and I had a Mirena inserted in the early 2000s without a problem. I loved it. Then when I had it replaced after my son was born I had one issue after another. It worked better for me when I was in my twenties than in my thirties. I had recurrent UTIs and other side effects. It just wasn't worth it anymore. My situation might be different. I did not and do not use oral bcps.... So my body wasn't used to the changes anymore. I got tired of the changes and just opted to use condoms. If we were to have a slip-up, I would just buy Plan B over-the-counter.

Best wishes to you!

I have had a Mirena since after my son was born in 2002 and I love it! I am one of the lucky folks who doesn't get a period at all and no side effects. I have been a Mirena evangelist ever since. :)

My friend Laura was told by her doctor that she couldn't get Mirena because of the hormones it releases, so she got a Paragard instead. She was plagued with heavy periods before it was inserted and afterwards they became even heavier and lasted longer. It bothered her so much that she had it removed after about 6 months and she and her husband went back to their previous BC method.