Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Went to the dr today to discuss my sleeve revision...

The dr talked about how he was going to do my sleeve. He actually folds my stomach over the staples to prevent any leakage (the thing they worry about the most with the sleeve). Told me from my ct scan (they took a ct 6 weeks ago while in the ER for a band herniation) that I was a perfect candidate. So I was all ready to schedule my surgery for next month. Then.....

He sent me to the insurance coordinator.

She then found out that I had cancelled my Medicare part B last year (it's for drs office visits and since I'm a vet, I go to the VA for drs appts, I felt like I wa wasting $110 a month on it if I never used it. Medicare part A covers the hospital. Then she told me that part B covers the dr's charges, bloodwork, etc. Comes to $5,000! I can either re-up my Medicare part B or come up with 50% of the money to have it done. I call Social Security and they inform me that I can't re-enroll until Jan 1st and it won't take effect till next July! A whole year!

So here I sit with a herniated band, totally unfilled. And I got on the scale today and weighed 177! I weighed 144 Dec of 2011 when I got married. I've gained 33 lbs in a year. About 10 lbs just last month. I know I can't do it on my own, I tried for 40 yrs. My husband is convinced that I should low carb it (he actually means almost NO carbs, he takes everything to the extreme) like he does. Keeps reminding me that when I was on Atkins in feb (I didn't cheat once in 4 weeks) I lost 14 lbs. Which I gained back the next month, of course. It's so easy for him to low carb it, not for me. He's very supportive of my weight loss surgery goals but thinks I could lose the weight dieting.