Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

1& 1/2 Weeks After Gastric Sleeve Surgery- Vomiting?

Hi All,

This is my first time posting. I was sleeved about a week and a half ago. I am fairly happy so far with the results, but still having severe nausea and often vomiting (more like the slimes - not full on vomting)....after about half of the meals that I eat. I am on a soft food diet. Mostly a bit of refried Beans, egg salad, yogurt, a bit of custard, Soups, etc. Pretty simple and soft, no lumps, type of food. I have been eating tiny amounts, but occasionally have pain and vomiting. Is this normal? I have had almost no care from my doctor regarding what to eat and how much to eat (just a handout that he gives to all patients- this is very common in Australia, unfortunately). I have very little guidelines on how much to eat, and even what to expect.

I live in Australia (although I am American)...and they are very slack here with follow-up care. My first appointment with my doctor is in about 3 weeks from now. I suppose that is why I am on this forum now, due to the lack of medical support. What I am wondering is if this is normal? It seems to be getting better every day, but I probably wouldn't even be consuming 500 calories per day. I am trying to consume Protein first, but I am just wondering when the nausea and vomiting calms down? After I eat, I generally have to lie down for a bit, as I feel so bad, and then I usually end up vomiting a bit of it back up - not the majority, but a it of it, and it is very slimy and gross.

I would love to hear about any of your experiences! I can't say that I am unhappy as I have already lost 27 lbs. in 3 weeks. I just wonder when things will be a bit more normal? I would love to hear from you all! Thanks so much!