Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Does This Really Work

Ok I am in the process of going through WLS... I have 2 more appointments and I am getting a lot of negative feedback about the lap band.... I am a nurse and I am not really familiar with lap band, except for what I have researched but I inquire many patients that have it. One patient I had today had the lap band in 2006 at 250lbs and is at about 240 today. Should I go for the gusto and get gastric or should I go for the lap band?? CONFUSED AT TIMES. ALL COMMENTS ARE GREATLY APPRECIATED... AND FYI... I AM 5'4 242 LBS...

This like all weight loss surgery is a tool. I know several people who have had By-Pass and have lost nothing or have gained it back. You will have to change your way of living, the WLS will not do the work, you have to do it. Eat right and exercise are the keys. You will have to change the way you live. Doing the wrong things will not have positive results. Now, many people have had success, but remember that the choice is yours.

It worked for me. I'm 5'3 and I started this journey weighing 196 lbs today I weight 171 and it's only been 5 months! It is about you making better food choices but the band has helped me do that. Alot of stuff I used to eat doesn't even sound good to me anymore, when before surgery I didn't know how I was gonna go without. I was a die hard diet soda drinker, I have not had a soda since 8-10-11 and I don't even miss it, I'm a tea drinker now and I use sweetner with 0 calories. I LOVE to eat at Deli's now for lunch and a cup of Soup and 1/2 a sandwitch without eating the bread makes me feel Super stuffed. Breakfast is a Protein Shake (weekends I have a "real" breakfast) and it keeps me full until lunch time. Never in a million years would I have been able to do that pre band! Good luck. For me this is the best decision ever, I"m loving the results!