Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What if my PCP says NO!?

Hi there! I've been researching WLS for a few months. I've attended a seminar for Lap Band, verified my insurance will cover it after the typical 6 month medically supervised diet and psych visit, I found a surgeon, discussed my decision with my family and have an appt with my PCP on Thursday morning to get the ball rolling.

As I was talking to a friend about it tonight she asked me the one question I never asked myself..."What if your doctor says no...what if they tell you all you need is diet and exercise?" Now I'm freaking out and starting to panic!! Has anyone had this happen?? What DO I do if she tells me no?!! I have fought this battle for 15 years, my BMI is 41 at 33 years old. I am ready for the rest of my life to begin and I can't do it on my own anymore. I'm sure I'm not supposed to say this but I NEED this surgery!!

What do I do at my appt?! How do I get this point across to my PCP?? What do I do if she tells me no?? Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

Hi nallygirl,

I'm pretty sure your PCP would have to have a good reason to say no. Some kind of health reason, not just that she doesn't think it's best.

When I talked to my PCP, I just told him that I was interested in the LapBand and he agreed. He did say he would not recommend any other type of WLS ( for health reasons), but he thought the LapBand would work well for me.

Good luck with your visit. keep us informed.

Thanks so much for your response! My PCP has been my doctor for almost 8 years now so she should be very familiar with my weight issues. I'm probably over thinking the whole thing and won't have an issue at the appt but once that thought popped into my head I had a momentary freak out! The appt is tomorrow morning so I'll be keeping my fingers crossed til then! :w00t: