Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Insurance (Aetna)

Help! I am just getting started. I have Aetna Insurance and live in upstate NY. I have been told by the surgeons office I wish to use that Aetna never approves the lap band surgery. My BMI is under 40 (38) and therefore they want me to have some comorbidities. If Anyone can help please.

hey i live in ga and i have a bmi way over 50 with comorbidities but do to the aetna plan i have it does not cover it.good luck.I was told it comes down to the particular plan.

I live in Memphis, TN and I have Aetna also. I just completed everything and turned in all my paperwork to the doctor to be sent to the insurance company. When I started the journey, my BMI was slightly over 40 with no comorbidities, or so I thought! If you don't have any known comorbidities, I would suggest you go to your PCP and have them check you for EVERYTHING! It turns out that I have slightly elevated blood pressure that could be weight related and a bad left knee that has been carrying to much weight. Don't give up. Find another doctor if you have to. I have come to realize that a weight issue is usually accompanied by something else!

Hey you know, Aetna approved me immediately. Of course, my BMI was about 55 (now down to 35)

Do you have any comorbidities? I think even one would be enough. Have you had sleep tests for sleep apnea?

Hello, My doctor told me atena does approve people however there are things you must do first...... it is a lot of work, maybe your doctor just does not want to help you through it. I just sent my paper work in today. here is what I needed to do.

1. 5 years of med. records including weight records.

2. a 3 month doctor followed diet plan along with a letter from a family doctor stating the reason this surgery should be done.

3. a 3 month documented meetings with a diatician during which you must keep a food/exercize log.

4. monthly weigh ins with your family doctor.

5. a phsyc evaluation.