Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Any teachers out there?

Hello everyone! I am a high school teacher and am scheduled to have the sleeve my first day of spring break. I also took off the week following that. I understand that everyone heals and recovers differently and in their own time, however, I am wondering how quickly some of you were able to return to work (if your job isn’t too physically straining)?

I work in healthcare and am planning on taking 2 weeks off after my GB. My surgeon said the big thing is not to lift anything more than 15 pounds (gallon of milk) for the first 4 weeks. Fortunately, my coworkers are all aware of this and have volunteered to move patients if they need an assist. I am concerned about fatigue afterwards but can take a nap during my 15 minute break if need be.

Sent from my SM-G975U using BariatricPal mobile app

I took three weeks off but probably could have gone back after two. I was a university librarian at the time (have since retired), so it was mostly a desk job. I did teach classes occasionally (teaching students how to do research and use the databases), but I was only on my feet for an hour at a pop when I did that - not sure how it would be for a high school teacher if you're on your feet most of the day.

I’m a JH librarian and my surgery is March 3rd so I’m taking the rest of that week and the next off. The week after that is spring break so I’m doing your plan in reverse.

I'm a college professor. I was physically fine but in a brain fog for 2 weeks after surgery. I definitely wouldn't have had the mental capacity to teach at that time.