Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

HI everyone,

I have been pondering weight loss surgery for a couple years now . I am currently enrolled in a program at my local Kaiser and am about to finish the nutrition classes which are required to qualify for surgery. I am 5'6 and weigh 242 lbs. I've always been the chunky girl not too big but definitely not skinny. I guess I am just scared that I won't be able to keep up with the requirements of the surgery such as living the healthy lifestyle or committing to exercise 5 times a week. Also I am scared of the excess skin.

I don't know if surgery is the way to go but at the same time I don't want to keep gaining weight. I am pre-diabetic and have a fatty liver I know this may be the beginning of more severe problems to come.

Any input is welcome :)

How old are you? I know when I was in my 30's, I was not skinny, but not fat. As I got older (I'm 57 now) it seemed like each year another 5 or 10 pounds was "acceptable, but not ideal" I found myself saying "I felt good at 210, if I could just get there!" and then "I was always happy under 230, let me try to get there"...and then I realized I'm going to be at 300 pounds in 3 more years at this rate and decided I needed to do something! I wish I had done it earlier, but who knows? If you are not committed to changing your lifestyle, you might go through this and end up back where you are. Or, you could decide you want to change your life anyway and do it without surgery. I am only 3.5 months out, so I hope I can commit and feel great forever, but at 50 pounds down, I'm committing now!

Also, I have been able to eat out, hang out with friends and still lose weight...I just order an appetizer and take half of it home and have one drink when I would have had several before (PS. I'm saving money, too!)

Good luck on your decision.

Edited by kellym1220