Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What to bring with to the hospital

Just curious if there are things that you were either 1) glad you brought with to the hospital or 2) you wish you had thought to bring to the hospital. Or heck, anything you brought that was a total waste to bring lol

My surgery is on Wed Sep 4th and I want to be prepared! I don't want to bring anything more than I need (plus as a nurse I know how much personal stuff can get in the way lol). I have to bring my CPAP, so that is a given. And my inhaler if I can find it (never use it lol). I will wear a loose comfy shirt and pants to/from the hospital and obviously bring clean underwear. I am sure I will want my own brush and toothbrush (going to forgo most toiletries since it is only an overnight stay). A decent pair of shoes to walk the halls in (thinking crocs because they are easy). I read someone comment that they were glad they had a pillow for the car ride home to hold against their belly, and will probably want to use it in the hospital (hate hospital pillows). Maybe I will have hubby put a blanket in the car too for the long ride home (oh wait, it is going to be 100 degrees, so maybe not lol). I know I will want my phone after surgery (hubby can hold it during surgery). The obvious: Insurance card (in hubbies wallet). Did you need your picture ID? I assume I will get a call about that this weekend from the hospital. Wasn't really planning to bring much else... but am I forgetting anything I should have?

Kind of sad right now... they mentioned they might move me to September 3rd due to a cancellation, but it is Friday afternoon on a holiday weekend. If they haven't moved me already, I doubt it is getting moved! I call the hospital on Tuesday afternoon for the exact time I need to be at the hospital on Wednesday. Anxious to get this over and done with!