Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Only 37 pounds in 4 months- what am I doing wrong? Please help-

Hi everyone-

I'm really just at a loss for what to do. I have been hanging around on these boards for the past 4 months since surgery but only posted a few times. I keep hoping to find someone else that is having the "I'm not losing enough weight" problem that I'm having.

I started at 240 a year ago and went into surgery at 226 pounds on December 6, 2016. I'm 4 months post-op and have only lost 37 pounds. After month 1 I was down 19 pounds- and I was thrilled. However, after months 2, 3, and 4 I'm only down 12, 2, and now 4 pounds, respectively. I've only lost 6 pounds in 2 months! So basically when I started to eat real food (or more than an average of 600 calories a day) the weight loss stopped.

I did have a problem at 7 weeks post-op where my gallbladder flared up and I was hospitalized for a few days. I then had it removed at 8 weeks. Since then I stopped losing. I've been cleared for exercise for the past month and since then I've been increasing my walking to now where I can walk 40 minutes at around 3.3 mph and not die- lol. I walk 2-3 times a week, stretch and do yoga 2 other days of the week.

I'm definitely getting in my Protein (around 90g per day) and I make my Fluid goal of 64oz- sometimes more but usually right at that because too much fluids make me nauseous. I'm eating fat-free cottage cheese with 1oz of no-sugar-added peaches for Breakfast. Then lunch is usually a tuna pouch with 6-8 rice crackers and a tsp of olive oil mayo. dinner is some sort of stir fry (maybe a tsp of sesame oil) or a piece of chicken breast and broccoli. In between the meals I'm drinking a Premiere Protein Shake each time.

My program says to only 2oz per meal until 6 months. Isn't this pretty small compared to everyone else? I'm trying to stick with that but I'm still pretty hungry and so I go back and eventually eat about 4 oz when all is said and done.