Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My experiences with Dr. Altamarino, Florence Hospital and BariatricPal

Dear everybody,

My Name is Michael, im 26 years old and I wanted to Share my experiences of my gastric Sleeve surgery with amazing Dr. A on the 12th February 2016.

I started to Research the option of having a WLS Last year. As everyone in the States i guess i First approached my Insurance Company and asked them if they would Pay for it. Im from Europe, Germany especially. They would eventually, but only After i did a one year Programme with a Meeting every monday evening at a certain Time. To be Noted, you can only Miss out Maximum 2 of the total 52 Sessions. But i also couldnt stand my "fat life" with Almost 350 pounds.

I work as a Check in staff for Lufthansa at the Airport. So i work from monday to Sunday anytime between 4am and Midnight. I just cant guarentee that i will be able to attend this Meeting every week at a certain Time. I sure would have Done it if i would have a "normal" Office Job from 9 to 5.

So a started to Look at the Self Pay options. Germany is about 13000-15000 Dollars for the surgery.

There Are cheaper options in the eastern Part of Europe in Countries like Czech Republic, polend, latvia etc..

I contacted two Hospitals in the Czech Republic. One didnt Even answer, the Other Doctor answered but he send me a horrible Email. I Know im Not a native English speaker aswell, but in his Email there were like 20 grammar mistakes (he couldnt Even Write hallo, he Sent me "helo"). Maybe im too harsh, but i thought that if he doesnt Even care about that, will he care in the OR? Maybe thats stupid, but my ex-big stomach (Lol) Said No!