Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Arthritis people.....

Hi there, my surgeon has no problem with ibuprofen, etc. but I am not taking NSAIDS -- too worried about long-term damage to the digestive track in general but since being banded I feel extremely cautious. But the joint pain, OMG! Recently I did a trial on Cymbalta which is being used in low doses to treat joint pain. I don't tolerate medicine very well, and so even though I do think it was working (but harder to tell in the summer) I went off of it. Behold the roaring return of inflammation and pain! Yesterday I picked up a script for Voltaren Gel, a topical NSAID for hands, feet, knees, elbows -- may not worker for deeper joints, like hips. $40 a tube (big tube) but I'm giving it a try. Any one have experience with this?

My dear Bandista...I am the poster child for arthritis and anti-inflammatories. I'm on Cymbalta 60 mgs. now. It's working very well for me in that my lower back is much better. But I have joint, muscle, and nerve issues still. I was on Neurontin before the Cymbalta and it didn't help at all. I was also on Voltaren 100 mgs. for a very long time but finally went off it a couple of months after the hips were replaced. I am currently taking a med called Duexis. It's a combination pill that includes an anti-inflammatory and Prilosec.

I know that NSAIDS are not a great thing to take long term but any med has risk. You have to determine with your doctor, if the benefit outweighs the risk. Right now, I need to be on the meds because I have some kind of hyper-inflammatory issue going on that they can't seem to diagnose. I see a rheumatologist as well so he can monitor my condition. The current thought is that I have some kind of auto-immune issue going on but they can't figure out what is causing it.