Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Brand New to all of this

I am a 37 year old male that has always struggles with my weight. Multiple diets that did nothing more than induce degrees of yo-yo weight gain/loss. I have been a type 1 diabetic since age 7, and now deal with type 2 as well. I have finally made the decision to consider VSG. I am in the baby stages. I have gone to the first seminar and have scheduled my first appointment. I am a bit nervous of the road ahead, but with a brand new baby at home, and my co-morbidities, I fear not seeing her graduate high school even more. I am seeing Dr. Jeffrey Johnsrud at St. Josephs in OC. The whole process is intimidating to me down to and including complications. I am an ICU Nurse and see a lot of normal procedure go wrong, but I keep telling myself I only see a small fraction of bad when overwhelmingly results are great.

That's exactly how I feel good luck to you keep us posted on your surgery date. Mine is 5/1 and I'm excited, nervous and scared but God is on my side so why should I worry at all. :rolleyes:

Good luck to you and congratulations on the new baby! I am almost 2 months out and I have been very happy with my progress. I was one of the lucky ones with no complications and not much pain at all. :) my surgeon said the procedure went great. I was back to a very active job in 2 weeks with no problems.

Hey gettinsmall,