Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Has Anyone Used Flex Benefits to Pay for Part of Surgery?

I am a school teacher and I have a flex benefit plan. In January I will have 2500 dollars on my Visa card. I wanted to use this to pay for some of my surgery and I would way out of pocket for the remaining amount. Has anyone used their benefits to help pay for their surgery?

I tried to use mine. I had quite a bit on my flex account Visa also. However, my coordinator tried to run it through and it didn't accept it. I ended up having to pay out of pocket and used my flex benefit card towards my medical supplies and Vitamins, etc. after surgery. You should still try and see if it works for you. Good luck!

I tried to use mine. I had quite a bit on my flex account Visa also. However, my coordinator tried to run it through and it didn't accept it. I ended up having to pay out of pocket and used my flex benefit card towards my medical supplies and Vitamins, etc. after surgery. You should still try and see if it works for you. Good luck!

Did you have surgery in Mexico. If so I can see why the charge might not have been approved. Although I can't say with certainty, I believe that this should be able to be charged to a Flex card at a provider in the US.

I thought about doing that a few years ago and it wasn't allowed on the insurance plan I had at the time.

Well I have heard there are several companies that are actually based here in the U.S. but the surgeries are performed in Mexico. I suppose I need to talk with my someone with my benefits plan to see if this would be acceptable.