Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I'm kind of nervous about my surgery, does anyone have any advice?

On May 20th, I fly all the way from Atlanta, Georgia to Tijuana, Mexico to get sleeved br Dr. Ramos Kelly. I'm not really nervous about the surgery itself, I've been doing my research for the past three months and everyone I've seen who's used Dr. Kelly says that he's the best.

I'm more worried about before and after the surgery. The first thing I'm worried about is the flight. I've never flown before, due partly to a major fear of heights, and partly because I highly doubt my ability to squeeze into the seats. Both my mom and the coordinator lady we've been emailing said that it'll be fine if I get the window seat and mom sits next to me, but I'm not sure about that. How did your flights go?

The second thing I'm worried about is telling my dad, my parents are divorced and my mom has custody, so there's really nothing he can do to stop the surgery from happening, but I'm afraid of telling him because I don't know how he'll react. And I have no idea how to even bring up the topic. I've considered not telling him at all, but he'll start wondering why I've stopped eating so much and how I've lost so much weight and why I disappeared for four days. I think he'll be angry at me if I waited until after I had it done to tell him, and I think he'll be even angrier if I don't tell him and all and he just sort of... finds out. How did you guys handle telling people?

The third thing I'm worried about is pain after the surgery. Some people say that they had no pain at all after getting sleeved, but one of my best friends is in Mexico right now. She was sleeved yesterday by Dr. Almanza at the Jerusalem Hospital. She texted me today and told me that the pain was unbearable. How was the pain for yall's surgery?