Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Things You Can Never Have Again With Sleeve :(

I am considering the sleeve because of its pros..but what are the cons?? What are some things you can NEVER have again?..I heard soda was one of them.

Hello,

I'm only about two months out from surgery so I'm not an expert but you are correct about soda unless it is flat. You aren't suppose to drink from a straw either. You will have to make the consumption of Protein and Water a priority. If you get low on either your energy will be zapped, or at least that's how it did for me. You will also need to watch your carbs like if you were on the Atkins diet. The surgery is still worth things that we have to change. Good luck in making your decision.

MK, I'm a year out and over 120 pounds down. I drink Decaf diet coke, about 1 a day, sometimes 2. I also use a straw in my Water cup every day. I eat bread very rarely these days because it makes my sleeve hurt, and I used to LOVE fresh hot bread. I baked it every week for my family pre-op. Now I do well to eat a whole small tortilla...and I'm full for way too long afterwards, so I make that a very rare thing.

As for what you can never have, there's not much that you can't ever have again. That's the beauty and frustration of the sleeve. You CAN eat whatever you want once you are past the post-op diet, but you'll find yourself needing to make better choices in order to meet your Protein goals. I eat very few veggies these days and find that I have to deliberately plan them into my diet, but I eat anything I like Protein wise. My sleeve doesn't like bread and it doesn't like spicy foods, but I don't miss them either.

For me, the sleeve has been a godsend..and I'd do it over again if I had to in order to lose almost 120 pounds in just over a year. What would you give up to weigh 120 pounds less? I think that bread and spicy food was a great trade for me! :)

Good luck, whatever you decide.