Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Dr. Ponce De Leon Or Dr. Alejandro Lopez

Good morning,

I am a brand new newbie and a self payer going to Mexico. I have it narrowed down to two surgeons. Anyone out there have an experiences to share to help me decide. Unfortunatly this will be a lonely experience for me as my support group does not support my decision. Looking to sleeve in March while on Spring Break from college. I am a full time wife, mother, employee, and student!!!

Amanda Rae

I was sleeved in Mexico by Dr.Almanza 8-30-12.. I had a great experience and have no regrets at all.

I'm kind of in the same situation you are in! I tell my family how bad I want and need this, and they just laugh it off because it's in Mexico and tell me how crazy I am. Little do they know, I'm gonna do it! I would love their support, and I need it, but whether they give it to me or not I'm going through with it regardless. I'm looking at going in March as well. I haven't picked a surgeon yet. Which 2 are you debating on?

I just got sleeved on Friday 14th by Dr Ponce de Leon! I am sitting in my hospital room at INT waiting to go get my leak test and then I'm getting discharged! yay!!! I have had a GREAT experience and definitely recommend Dr Ponce and his coordinator Trish! I was VERY nauseated the first night but that is typical for me from anesthesia.. the other ladies here were totally fine and came to check on me LOL the nurses are AWESOME! they are so encouraging and were here around the clock with whatever meds I needed. I only needed pain meds the first night and haven't had any since! Anyway I'd be happy to answer questions, will be home on Monday and have a bunch of pics I'm going to share of my experience :)