Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Food questions

Hi everyone,

I am new to this group and in the inquiring stages of getting banded. My new insurance covers it and it's something I have read about and thought about for a few years. I submitting paperwork today to get the ball rolling but wanted to get some of the questions out of the way from real people versus Dr's.

I am 100% Sicilian. With that means, food has always been about comfort. I am an experienced cook, very creative in the kitchen and have won recipes and ended up in cookbooks, etc.. I also food blog and do restaurant reviews so this is a huge life challenge for me.

I have done well on Weight Watchers in the past but it always creeps back up. I was doing so well and lost almost 50 pounds until my center closed and moved far away. Thhen the weight crept back and I am back into this stage and want to do something while I am still young. I am 37, overall very good health but overweight (obviously).

I am curious if I have to walk away from everything or if you can occassionally try things that aren't on your list?? For instance, once a month, my Italian family gets together for all of us to cook. Will I never be able to have Pasta again in my life?? Or is this something that once a month, I can have a few bites and partake in our tradition??

How are holidays for everyone? While everyone is eating, is it mentally tough?

I know high Protein is pushed... Is sushi or sashimi an option?

Are you able to ever have a glass of wine? I know you can't eat and drink at the same time (is this correct?) but what if I went out with friends and wanted a cocktail? Is it just hard to digest or is it because it's empty calories?

I just want to check on how my lifestyle and this surgery would go together. Thanks in advance!