Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Assholes

I have been reading recently about the benefits of Raw Foods, and thinking about what it could or couldn’t do for me. I decided I would go ahead, and give it a go, it seems fairly simple, and if I didn’t like it, I could just eat something cooked, right?

My first day into raw foods I started with some green juice, which, by the way, I have been drinking for several years on and off in the mornings, because it gives me a serious burst of energy, (green juice is made in a juicer out of an apple, lemon, kale, spinach or lettuce – not iceberg)

For a snack, I had an orange, and a kiwi, lunch was my own raw version of sushi, nori with cucumbers, alfalpha sprouts, carrots, diakon radish, and avocado, wrapped up like a sushi roll.

Next snack was a handful of raw nuts, dinner was just a huge bowl of vegetables with vinegar, parsley, and cold pressed olive oil dressing.

It was A LOT of food. My band isn’t super tight, it’s been a while since I had a fill, but slow and steady chewing helped me, and I didn’t get stuck once.

I have been on raw foods for 7 days now, I don’t know if I have lost any weight, I probably have, but I don’t weigh myself unless I am at my doctors office. My primary concern when thinking about changing what I ate to a raw food diet was the Protein, which I have been able to supplement with sprouts (did you know that one cup of sprouted lentils can have as much as 49 grams of protein!?!)

I feel awesome, honestly, the first few days were super hard, but I have yet to experience any withdrawal symptoms, I wake up earlier in the morning, there’s a new bounce in my step, and several people have commented on my weight/skin and how it seems to be changing. I’m excited about it.