Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Vacation/Travel/Socializing after surgery

I'm having my sleeve on Feb. 3, and of course I am nervous and trying to focus on the positive. I am realizing how much of our social life revolves around food! I am 61 and married. We are taking a lovely trip in June to Ireland and Amsterdam with another couple; We often meet up with folks for dinner/drinks; my husband and son love breweries, I am a pretty good cook and we have people over for dinner a lot. This super bowl Sunday is the first in forever that I am not going to a Super Bowl party with my ribs and/or chili. (To be fair, I am from Massachusetts, so this is not a great SB year for us....) I am not that worried about the no alcohol part, I am a light drinker and am happy enough to substitute with Water or herbal tea. But:

1. How do people deal with Protein needs while traveling? Eating on the road, or worse, in the airports?

2. Do you still meet up with folks for dinner, etc.? Can you enjoy a small meal or appetizer and still feel comfortable in that setting?

3. Do people still enjoy cooking? I really enjoy making food for a group and then hanging out at the table, chatting and laughing. Will I still feel that way?

I'd love to hear about other people's challenges and triumphs post surgery.

18 minutes ago, lisafrommassachusetts said:

1. How do people deal with Protein needs while traveling? Eating on the road, or worse, in the airports?

2. Do you still meet up with folks for dinner, etc.? Can you enjoy a small meal or appetizer and still feel comfortable in that setting?

3. Do people still enjoy cooking? I really enjoy making food for a group and then hanging out at the table, chatting and laughing. Will I still feel that way?

I'd love to hear about other people's challenges and triumphs post surgery.