Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie with PCOS looking for a Mentor/Buddy

Hello everyone.

I'm a newbie on this portal. I've had PCOS for about 16 years with horrible menstrual cycles and every bad side effect. My menstrual cycle took the worst turn last year when I had bleeding for 9 months non-stop. Yes, 9 whole months. I visited and changed several gynecologist but every single one wanted me to go on birth control pills, which I was totally against, the reason being I gained close to 88 lbs in a year after I took birth control pills (for a year).

Finally, after long research, I found my current gynecologist (my guardian angel) who took care of my situation but still insisted that I loose as much weight as possible. I tried, I tried real hard but only lost 1-2 lbs a month and would gain that back again in the next month. My gynecologist suggested about undergoing a VSG about 2 years back, but I kept postponing the idea of a surgery due to financial issues. She has put me on a combination of Metformin tablets (I take 2X500mg tablets on a daily basis) and Meprate 10 tablet which I am suppose to take from the 16th day (after my periods have stopped). This combination worked like a charm and I started having regular periods (5 days flow), but after 6 months when I visited my gynecologist she said that she did not want me anymore on Meprate and I had to make a lifestyle change if I wanted to be healthy. My BP now reads 140 and I am close to becoming a diabetic.

So finally I decided to undergo the VSG. I am scheduled for the surgery on Dec 26 (or 27). I like the bariatric surgeon who will be performing the surgery, he is a reputed doctor from UK and I will be undergoing the surgery in Bangalore, India (as I reside here). I have heard a lot about people supporting each other via support groups, hence when I was searching for one I came across this portal.