Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Autism/Mental illness/Bad Support and WLS

I decided to make thread because I'm very much struggling. I need to lose weight and need to find a place to do so that is loving and supportive of my weight loss goals but I don't have that and I've tried to get WLS 2 times before this is my 3rd time trying. I'm very depressed, anxious and feel my autism and mental illness will automatically not get me approved again. It's like every time I get far in the process it seems I take two steps forward and three steps back and I'm tired of it. I hate people that judge me and say I'm taking the easy way out. No I'm not, I have a hormonal imbalance and metabolism problem that will not be fixed with diet or exercise alone. I know me and I'm not trying to be lazy or take the easy way out I'll still exercise. I will just have an extra tool to lose way more weight with diet and exercise. Is there anyone who is here that is on the autism spectrum or have mental illness or even just has a bad support system that feels the same way? Because I need somebody to tell my frustrations to, sorry.

I just feel alone and family does not get my struggle, they just tell me to eat less and exercise more which does not help at all. Or they tell me to just be happy and get out when really that's not what I need. I have certain needs that they don't seem to understand. I get severe sensory overload and freak out in social environments. Most of my cares with simple tasks and daily living skills are not being met and I'm scared that will also not get me approved I need more help than normal people right now and don't know where to ask.

Most of us chose weight loss surgery because dieting and exercising just didn't work for us but weight loss surgery turned out to be a very viable solution.

@@Tierra T Tij - you are pre-op and waiting to do basics of approval from Nut and Psyche eval I assume?