Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

It has been sixteen weeks since my surgery. I have lost weight very slowly and have been on a stall seems like forever. In fact I keep going up and down five pounds or so!! I have not had any follow up blood work. I went in and saw my cardiolist and he did blood work up. He said my thyroid (I don't have one) is low, Homocysteine level is elevated, Glucose is high and I have a Vitamin D deficiency. Would this keep me from losing weight?

I'm far from an expert, so I'd recommend asking the professionals, but....

Low thyroid levels would surely make it harder to lose, though I would imagine it wouldn't stop things completely, just make it slower.

High Glucose - not sure if you were/are diabetic, but if not, could whatever you're eating have more sugar in it than you realize?

As for the Vitamin D, that is quite common for us after surgery. Did they increase the amount they recommend you take via Vitamin supplement? That was the only number somewhat out of whack when I had my bloodwork done, so I increased my Vitamin D dosage to compensate.

The way I understand homocysteine is that it is used to diagnose higher risk for heart disease, but not something that would affect weight loss.

I am diabetic.....my PCP said at the last appointment that they had changed me to a to lower dose of medication but he would give it a while and see if it changed with the weight loss, but I haven't lost anything since I saw him last. I am taking Calicum with 1600 Vitamin D? Just so frustrated because I am not losing. Tracking everything....getting all my Protein and Water in????

How many calories are you consuming and burning? What is your activity level like?