Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Surgery and Aunty Flow on the same day

Saw my surgeon today and booked my surgery date YAY!!! But... It's the same day as my period is due :( obviously after waiting this long to have this done, I'm not about to reschedule because of it... But I'm a bit stressed that this will be embarrassing and gross and just one more thing I'll be worrying about in the lead up to my big day.

Did anyone else experience this?

Didn't happen to me but I have seen tons of posts here about this. Just make sure that the nurses getting you admitted know. They have seen it all and believe me will treat you very professionally and not bat an eyelash - but they do need to know. Good luck!

I was on my cycle when I had surgery. It's really not a big deal. I'm a nurse so I knew it was nothing the surgery team hadn't seen before. I told them in holding before undressing and that was that. Don't cancel your surgery over a menstrual cycle. That's just a normal part of life.

I was too- no biggie. Just tell the pre-op nurse when you get there. They made me where one of their maxi's and special underwear. (sorry tmi)

I am also afraid of that. If I schedule my surgery when I plan to, I will probably be on my cycle to. I was on my cycle for a foot surgery too, and it was all ok............don't reschedule. it isn't like they haven't seen blood before! don't stress!

i got mine the day before surgery and as previous members posted, it was definitely not a big deal. don't sweat it and good luck with your surgery! :)