Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Bypass or Sleeve CONFUSED

My surgeon backed out last minute doing all and any gastric surgeries and now I'm in the market for a new one... Thank goodness I found one that accepted my insurance and I had all the pre-requisite testing done before hand... But now my biggest decision is to have either the bypass or the sleeve... My biggest fear is that the decision that I do think I do not want to fail my weight-loss goals now and in the future... Can anyone out there give me some of their experiences with both the bypass or sleeve???

I have lots of experience but first I'm going to ask if you have GERD or any acid reflux? Do you take Nexium or Tums? That will significantly change my answer because those conditions put you at a high risk for complications with the sleeve which is what happened to me.

I have lots of experience but first I'm going to ask if you have GERD or any acid reflux? Do you take Nexium or Tums? That will significantly change my answer because those conditions put you at a high risk for complications with the sleeve which is what happened to me.

Uhoh I am scheduled for the sleeve and I have Gerd and take Omeprizole.

Uhoh I am scheduled for the sleeve and I have Gerd and take Omeprizole.

I don't mean to scare anyone but in my own experience I had bad GERD and took Nexium everyday and once I had surgery the reflux got a lot worse and it got so bad that it's eroding my esophagus and they are revising me to a bypass to avoid esophageal cancer. I'm 21 and I'm probably a rare case but I have seen a lot of reflux complications around here from the sleeve. It's just something I'd talk to your surgeon about, please don't change everything based on one experience..just research it and talk it through with your doc. Mine never brought it up and I wish he had. If you click on me and see the threads I've started you can see my journey from a sleeve in 2012 to a bypass August 1st.