Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Surprisingly easy to gain weight..!

Hello, everyone!

I had my sleeve on August 31, 2011, so I am about 2 months shy of 2 years. There have been lots of events in my life the last few months, that have added to my stress, and disrupted my eating routine, and I'd like to write a little about it. Primarily to get feedback if anyone has had a similar situation, and secondarily to put my thoughts out there into a world where people can relate.

Since I had surgery, I have had lots of time to fall into a very well planned eating and drinking routine. As a student, I have had loads of time to find what works for me, and what doesn't.

However, there were many events that took place in the month of May and June that sort of disrupted that routine. In May, I gave one of the biggest exams of my life. My appetite wasn't very good, and my calorie/protein intake dropped a bit. Following this, I was in classes from 8 to 7 for a week (also a wonky eating and drinking routine), and then I was off to India - this is where things really went downhill. I was barely hitting 50-60% of my nutritional goals, and was running around all day long.

By the end of these 2 months, I had dropped 2.5 pounds below my healthy weight range. Here's the thing, many of us might even be a little happy about going below the range, but no one wants to look sick or undernourished. Losing weight with a healthy lifestyle still leaves you glowing and energetic. I, however, looked anorexic, pale, and dull. It was seriously ridiculous, and people were commenting on how unhealthy I looked every single day.