Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What this program fee about?

Hi all....I am a newbie to the forum and I attended my intro seminar yesterday. The surgeon, Dr. Liao from GBMC in baltimore explained that you have to pay a $500.00 program fee before your information can be submitted to the insurance company for approval. Has anyone else had to pay a fee like this?

Moreover, has anyone had surgery at GBMC with Dr. Liao or Dr. Mo?

Also, does anyone have BlueCross/Blue Shield. If so can you explain the insurance requirements? And if they have a 3mo or 6mo suprevised weight lost requirment?:rolleyes:

Hi! I know things can be frustrating just getting started. I am not sure about the "program fee". I do also have blue cross but mine is blue cross blue shield of ga for whom i work for. Each employer group determines the benefits that they will offer for their employee.. To say that, i mean, u may have blue cross blue shield of ga too but work for let's say the bank. You may not have ANY coverage for WLS because your employer decided not to cover it. But with that being said, blue cross blue shield of ga does not require a 3 month diet. BMI <40 needs comorbid conditions bmi >40 needs no comorbids..will have to do a psych eval, nutritionists appt,medical clearance and some drs want pulmonary and cardiac clearance. Call your customer service number on the back of your card, they can tell you exactly what you need and in most cases, will even mail an intro packet to you related to your weigt loss surgery ie: deductibles,copays,etc.. Hope that helps....:rolleyes:

Hi,

I have BC/BS of IL. I had all the requirements of the previous post plus 6 months with a nutrisionist and 5 years of documentation of being overweight. I don't know about the fee, my surgeon did not have one. I don't think it cost's $500 to submit paperwork that mostly you will have to collect yourself.