Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hey everyone, I'm new to this whole process. I just had my consultation at the beginning of the month and have started my three month process for insurance. I have been overweight for quite some time now and I'm just ready to start my weight loss journey. What are something that you wish was told to you before you had your surgery? Did you already start taking Vitamins? Was anyone on birth control before and after surgery?

I've heard a lot of different things about pain also after surgery and I expect pain, but was you able to do some of your normal daily routine? Was bending, sitting or laying hard for you to do? I've had two C-sections so I'm familiar with abdominal pain after surgery, but is it anything like that?

Sorry for the over load of questions. I'm just nervous and anxious and don't want to miss any information.

Welcome!

23 minutes ago, BethanyA said:

What are something that you wish was told to you before you had your surgery?

I actually felt pretty well prepared for my surgery because I spent a lot of time reading these forums in the months leading up to surgery. I also watched a lot of YouTube videos from people who have had the surgery. There are a lot of videos about "things I wish I had known about WLS," so I was prepared for some of those things that seem to surprise a lot of people.

One thing that was still a bit of a surprise was just how difficult it was to get fluids and Protein in the first few weeks. No matter how many times I read or heard about how difficult it was, I didn't fully grasp how it would actually feel until I got there. The other surprise was how little pain I had and how easy my recovery was. I took a week and a half off of work, but I could have easily gone back to work 5 days after surgery.

29 minutes ago, BethanyA said:

Did you already start taking Vitamins?