Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

When did you go back to work?

I’m curious how long other folks were off work after bypass. My surgeon said most people can get back after just a week. After his own bypass, he was performing surgery again in just 7.5 days after 😳

8 weeks but I’m a teacher and was off for the summer

My surgery is next month and my surgeon told me that a majority of his patients go back to work after two weeks.

I had surgery on a Wednesday and went back to work on Monday (5 days).

I went back one week after the sleeve, 10 days after bypass.

I had mine over winter break (teacher) so 10 days including weekends . Just be careful to not lift anything too heavy

Wasnt about pain at all past day 3 or 4 (gas pain only) ... was about learning and getting routines around eating and hydrating

I took 2 weeks off. I found it to be the perfect amount of time. I was doing fine physically after one week but took the other week to adjust to all the changes.

Sent from my SM-G960U using BariatricPal mobile app

Six weeks for me, but I have a physically demanding job and had to be cleared to be off of weight restrictions to return.

Take as long as financially feasible given your situation is my advice.

I had my Surgery on a Thursday morning and went back on Monday.

Folks I work with are like family. So far, everyone has been supportive of my choice to do the surgery, but I'm wondering how true people really are sometimes. Did any of ya'll return to work and expect support, but notice people (or a person) change how they interact with you?

I took 2.5 weeks off (there were some holidays in there). It was alright - I have a desk job. I was really dehydrated at first so I would get a bit dizzy and hot flashes. But bearable.