Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi Ladies,

So won't like this question, and that's ok with me. I'm new to this and I have a honest question. I'm not trying to step on ANYONE'S toes with this question. I see a lot of pics that peoples very successful weightloss. In some full body pics I see people who look very different up top, but below....it looks like they are the same size as before surgery-big thighs and legs. I have big thighs and legs now. My question is- Is this just how some women look after weightloss regardless of exercise. Are there workouts that can be done to get the legs in better proportion with the top part?

Obviously, you don't lose all your weight up top and don't change from the waist down. What you are seeing are proportions. If you carry your weight low, you will probably always carry your weight low. It's genetics. I still have big thighs, but also lots of loose skin on my butt and thighs, so obviously I lost a lot of fat down there. Really no loose skin up top because I didn't have as much fat up there. Went from a size 22W jeans to a size 7, so even though I'm still the same "proportions", I lost plenty down below. As for exercise, anything I do to focus on my legs will just build more muscle, and make them even bigger.

Here's my after picture...see still big thighs, but looking fabulous!

post-182221-0-80213200-1410874470_thumb.jpg

For me, I've always been a size bigger on top than on bottom. This. Is. A. Blessing! When I was at my largest, it was harder to tell, but still true. Once the weight came off, it became more apparent again. I think it's just the way I'm built. Medium tops, (or a small if it's stretchy) and small to size 4 pants. You CAN tone and work on specific areas. I ride a bike for cardio so my legs are very muscular (under the extra skin, lol) and I do push ups and crunches to help firm up the rest, but you're not going to completely change your body type with WLS.