Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Question: Straws??

I am only 6 days post-op and my Doctor recomends that I not drink out of a straw for 6 months, and I work at Starbucks and drink from a straw 24/7. Has anyone else been told this?? Do you follow it?? Please shed some light on this very strange post-op rule....:)

GREAT question!!

I've been told not to drink out of a straw too. It's something about swallowing more air and swelling your pouch. Or something like that. Or maybe you drink more when you drink with a straw. I don't drink out of a straw except when I drink iced tea (I'm trying to get my teeth whiter) and I haven't noticed any averse reactions. Since everything I drink is low-cal or no-cal and I don't drink while I'm eating, I don't really see a problem.

WHen I was a nursing student WAY back when... we were told that drinking from a straw would cause more post-operative gas for our patients and to discourage it. Some find this to be a problem...some don't... and I think the worst thing that is could potentially cause is a little extra gas in the belly.

My center says it's up to you -- some people swallow more air when drinking from a straw, and some folks are just fine. If you are not having trouble with gassiness or gas pains, then the straws are probably fine for you.

If you are having trouble with gassiness, which seems to be common, the straws still might not have anything to do with it. But it doesn't hurt to try giving it up. As well as buying a case of Gas-X from costco, not drinking anything even remotely carbonated, using Lactaid if you have dairy issues, etc. :)

I haven't actually tried drinking out of a straw yet but I go back to work on Wed and I know I'll want to so I was just wondering what everyone thought!! I think I might discuss it with my surgen when I go for my post-op tomorrow....